Instructional design (ID) is a systematic and efficient process for developing educational and training materials and experiences to enhance the learning experience and achieve better learning outcomes using evidence-based practices and principles.

Instructional designers collaborate with subject matter experts to identify learning goals and develop instructional materials that align with these objectives, including lesson plans, activities, assessments, and multimedia resources. In addition, they consider the learner’s requirements, interests, and skills, as well as the delivery context of the instruction.

While there are more than three instructional design models, we will focus on three of them in this blog article. 

What Are The Three Main Types of Instructional Design?

What are some different types of instructional design? There are many different models and educators who apply specific ID models based on what they are trying to accomplish. Some of the most popular instructional design models include Bloom’s Taxonomy, the ADDIE model, Gagne’s Nine Events of Instructions, and Merrill’s Principles of Instruction.

The ADDIE Model

The ADDIE model remains one of the most popular instructional design models, and it offers a framework for how to apply instructional design. The ADDIE model stands for Analyze, Design, Develop, Implement, and Evaluate. This refers to the following steps: analyzing the problems that need to be addressed and the goals that need to be accomplished, designing the strategies to reach those objectives, developing the content according to those strategies, implementing (or launching) the finished course or program, and evaluating whether the content delivered the expected results.

Of course, many instructional designers might use a different list of instructional design models that make more sense for their specific goals. 

Gagne’s Nine Events of Instructions

The Gagne’s Nine Events of Instructions instructional design model focuses on these nine steps:

  • Gaining attention
  • Informing learners of objectives
  • Stimulating recall of prior learning
  • Presenting the content
  • Providing learning guidance
  • Eliciting performance
  • Providing feedback
  • Assessing performance
  • Enhancing retention and transfer

Gagne’s Nine Events of Instructions is a popular instructional design model because the clearly laid out steps are simple and create a clear path forward.

Merrill’s Principles of Instruction

Merrill’s Principles of Instruction is a popular framework developed by Dr. David Merrill, a prominent figure in the field of instructional design. The framework is intended to help designers develop effective instructional materials by providing a set of principles that should be followed in the design process. 

There are five principles in total, which are often referred to by the acronym “FIDDS”: 

First, the principle of “F” or “first principles” involves designing instruction that is grounded in fundamental concepts and principles. Second, the principle of “I” or “intuitive instruction” emphasizes designing instruction that is easy for learners to understand and use. 

Third, the principle of “D” or “demonstration” involves providing learners with examples and models to follow. Fourth, the principle of “D” or “application” involves providing learners with opportunities to apply what they have learned. Finally, the principle of “S” or “stimulation” involves designing instruction that is engaging and motivating for learners.

Instructional designers understand the importance of applying learning theories and instructional design models for effective instruction. Since instructional design has existed for decades, it’s important to recognize that there are now dozens of different kinds of ID models and theories that may work for specific industries, sectors, and applications more than others. 

How To Apply Instructional Design Models?

There are many different ways to think about instructional design. Bloom’s Taxonomy, one of the most established and well-known models of instructional design, focuses on three main domains or components: cognitive, affective, and psychomotor. These domains were first established in 1956 by educational psychologist Dr. Benjamin Bloom, the inventor of Bloom’s Taxonomy.

What exactly does this mean? The cognitive component refers to mental development, and includes six intellectual skills. These skills include knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, synthesis, and evaluation. 

The affective component refers to the emotional responses of the learner, including how learners receive, respond, value, organize, and characterize what they learned. 

The psychomotor component helps learners perform physical tasks and includes the following areas: perception, set, guided response, mechanism, complex overt response, adaptation, and origination.

While these are sometimes referred to as the three main domains of instructional design, there are many more different types of instructional design models used by instructional designers. Let’s delve into a few more ID models and how they are specifically applied. 

How Jackrabbit LX Can Help

At Jackrabbit LX, we are dedicated to staying ahead of the curve by keeping up with the latest trends and technologies in learning experience design. We provide our clients with cutting-edge solutions that give them a competitive advantage in their respective markets. Collaboration is at the core of everything we do, and we work closely with our clients throughout the design process to ensure our solutions meet their specific needs.

Our ultimate goal is to deliver meaningful and relevant learning experiences that drive business success for our clients. Our expert strategists specialize in designing customized learning experiences for organizations of all sizes and types. Whether you’re trying to build a new program from the ground up, scale an existing program, or simply want to rejuvenate how your employees learn, we can help elevate your learning experiences and improve learner retention and engagement. 

We’re incredibly passionate about what we do and believe that every organization deserves an exceptional learning experience. At Jackrabbit LX, we’re committed to making that a reality for our clients. If you’re ready to elevate your learning experience game, contact us today to learn more about how we can help you achieve your objectives.

Join Us!

Unlock Exclusive Insights for Leading Learning Organizations

Join our community to receive proven solutions and actionable insights for launching and managing successful learning organizations. Stay ahead with the latest innovations and tools designed to elevate your training and education programs.

Sign up now to start improving your learning operations!